The Sunday Salon: Spring Reading Fever

Spring has sprung!  I know it’s early and it may not last, but the beautiful weather we’ve had the past few days has put me in a very jolly mood.  Saturday afternoon we took the dogs for a long walk on a trail that meanders along a large creek, and I loved being out in the sun for a couple of hours.

In other happenings, my oldest daughter has been home on Spring Break the past two weeks.  I really enjoyed having her around the house, even if only for a short time.  We enjoyed visiting some of our usual haunts together, including our local yarn shop where she picked up supplies for her next knitting project, and I received some much-needed help with my first sock, which I feared had gone pear-shaped but, in fact, had not. 🙂  Today Kate returns to school, but the good news is she’ll be back in two months, with one full year of university study behind her.

This week I’m reading Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, which is a thought-provoking book about where our food comes from.  Having gone vegetarian four years ago, there’s a lot in this book that I knew already, but it was good to remind myself why I made the switch.  I’m approaching the end of the book, so expect a review in the next few days.

For some reason it feels like my reading is progressing more slowly — probably due to “good” distractions like family and weather. I’d like to finish three more books this month:  The Worst Hard Time, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, and A Wreath of Roses.  This beautiful weather definitely improves both my mood and my energy level, so hopefully a bout of “spring reading fever” will help me make my goal.

Has spring sprung in your part of the world?  Read any good books lately?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Spring Reading Fever

  1. Another non-fiction book? You’re on a roll – good for you! I was thinking the other day how I should pick up one of my non-fiction books off the shelf, but then my latest book order arrived with 3 long-listed Orange books. LOL!

    • Yeah Jill, Omnivore is my second NF this month and I have one more on my March stack. But I think I’m going to read a novel in between. I need a break from the factual 🙂

    • Well Laurel-Rain, the good thing about rainy days is you have an excuse to curl up and read. I hope you enjoyed your Sunday.

    • Sheila, it’s tough when real life interferes with reading isn’t it? No matter how much I want to do the “real life” stuff, I also long for uninterrupted reading time.

  2. Pear-shaped socks would make shoe-fitting awkward: glad to hear you got that sorted!

    All of the appropriately joyful flowers have sprung here and we have gone for more long, long walks in the past week than we’ve gone all winter.

    I’ve read a couple of good books about various aspects of girl-hood lately (Rachel Lloyd’s Girls Like Us and Peggy Orenstein’s Cinderella Ate My Daughter) but the walking time is taking a bite out of reading time (not that I’m complaining exactly) and obviously you know how that goes! Enjoy!

    • BIP, I’ve been following your girl-hood reading with interest. I went through a period of reading quite a lot of books like that (pre-blog), and am still quite interested in the topics even though my reading is heading in other directions these days. I’m glad spring has sprung in your parts! This is one of my favorite times of year.

Comments are closed.