The Sunday Salon: First Quarter Progress

No foolin’, 2012 is 25% complete, so it’s time to take stock of my year in reading (so far).

I finished 16 books, and have 1 long-term read in progress (Middlemarch).  Although I’ve often felt like I’m reading more slowly, this is pretty much the same pace as first quarter 2011.  I’ve had two 5-star reads so far this year and oddly enough, I read both in the same week ! Click on the titles to read my reviews:

And let’s not forget my 2012 Reading Resolutions. There are only four, but one is proving especially challenging:

  1. I will read more books from my stacks than I acquire.  Whose idea was this, anyway?  The good news is, the majority of books read this quarter were ones I already own: 3 Virago Modern Classics, 7 from my stacks, and 1 re-read on my Kindle.  I’m well on my way to achieving my 2012 goal to read 30-40 books I already own.  The bad news?  I added 21 books to my home library, 11 of which are VMCs.  And I can’t blame it all on my birthday.  Cringe.  Sigh.  Moving on …
  2. I will read more non-fiction.  Success!  I’ve read 3 non-fiction books already, and have enjoyed “mixing it up” a bit.
  3. I will continue making progress on all reading projects, but especially the Booker Prize, Orange Prize, and Virago Modern Classics.  I’m on a good pace with this one.  Orange January started the year off right, and one-quarter into the year, I’m exactly one-quarter of the way towards my Virago and Booker reading goals.
  4. I will increase interaction with the book blogging community.  In January, I expanded the Elizabeth Taylor Centenary beyond LibraryThing to the blogosphere, and I’m delighted with the enthusiastic participation in both venues.  I also recently joined The Classics Club.  And I’m happy to say I’m seeing new visitors to my blog!  I love all the comments and discussion.

And while the year may be 25% over, that just means 75% of the year is still to come, and with it more great books.  In the next few months I’m looking forward to reading more books by Elizabeth Taylor, a Persephone, a few books from my stacks (of course!) and … um … a couple of books I plan to buy soon (blush).

What books are you looking forward to reading?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

6 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: First Quarter Progress

  1. I have joined some challenges that will help me tackle those books I already own…and I’m making pretty good progress.

    Unfortunately, I still have been bringing lots of new books into the house, but some are review books that are “free,” and others are on my Kindle, which doesn’t contribute to the bookshelf dilemma.

    Great job on your resolutions!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. I’m hoping to read some Persephone titles this year too. I keep lusting after books on their site, just waiting for the budget to expand a bit first. *sigh* I wish I had unlimited funds for book buying. And traveling. 🙂

    • Diana, I couldn’t believe it when my husband gave me Persephones for my birthday. He has watched my Virago Collection grow, and I was surprised he would aid and abet a new (and more expensive) addiction!

Comments are closed.