Midweek @ Musings: What I’ll be Reading in April

This year I’ve been doing pretty well reading books I already own, which has led to a new bookish quirk: creating a “reading stack” each month (here they are for February and March).  I find it strangely satisfying to work my way from top to bottom each month.  In April, I will once again be reading mostly books found around the house.  It seems Pumpkin has become quite fond of these photos.  When he saw me enter the room, camera in hand, he jumped right up on the desk and struck a pensive pose!

Uploaded from the Photobucket iPhone App

Zooming in:

  • The Fault in our Stars, by John Green: My daughters are huge John Green fans and have read all of his novels.  They have urged me to read this one, and I’ve read enough glowing reviews that I no longer need convincing.
  • Someone at a Distance, by Dorothy Whipple: This was one of three Persephones in my birthday haul, and my first encounter with Dorothy Whipple.  I’ve read nothing but good things about her books, and I can’t wait to start this one.
  • Poor Caroline, by Winifred Holtby:  Holtby is one of my favorite authors, and I’ve read nearly all her novels.  This is a new edition from Virago Press that will be released in the US in May.  Although I already have a copy in classic Virago green, I accepted the US distributor’s offer of the new edition in exchange for my review.
  • Loitering with Intent, by Muriel Spark: OK, stop squinting.  This book isn’t actually in the picture; it’s still at my local library.  I’ll be reading this for Muriel Spark Reading Week (April 23-29), an event sponsored by Simon at Stuck-in-a-Book.  Years ago I read Spark’s best-known work, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, but have never read anything else.  It’s about time I remedied that situation, and besides, this book was nominated for the Booker Prize so it counts towards one of my other goals.
  • A Dance to the Music of Time (Fourth Movement), by Anthony Powell: This is the fourth and last movement of a series I have loved so much.  I will be sad to say good-bye to Nick Jenkins and the many other characters I’ve met along the way.

Did you notice my Kindle leaning up against the stack?  That’s me working my way through Middlemarch.  I’m gradually reading Book III Waiting for Death, in preparation for a Team Middlemarch discussion in late May.  To stay on pace, I plan to read a bit between the books in the stack.

And finally, how do you like that pretty yarn sitting atop the book stack?  Last month I finished my first knitting project (a scarf), and decided to try my hand at socks.   I actually finished one and I’m really pleased with it.  I’m now working the second sock.  They look like they will be thick and warm, I love the colors, and I’m learning a lot!

What are your plans for April?

6 thoughts on “Midweek @ Musings: What I’ll be Reading in April

  1. I’ve just bought that Whipple from a second hand bookshop and am looking forward to reading it in the near future.

  2. I make monthly reading stacks too, but what’s in them frequently gets carried over to the next month :-). And i LOVED The Fault in Our Stars–I hope you do too!

    • Florinda, I LOVED it too. It was a 5-star read, which is guaranteed to land it on my top books of 2012 list. I remember you saying it was your best read so far this year, so we’re of like minds on this one. I’ve been reluctant to write my review because that means letting go of the book, and I’ve been holding it inside for a couple of days. Soooo good.

  3. Oh, look at Pumpkin: doing his bit! And that *is* great yarn: I love it! I’ve never tried socks: aren’t there multiple needles? *looks nervous*

    I really enjoyed Poor Caroline; there were some oddly funny moments, and meeting the variety of characters kept it interesting.

    • BIP, most knitting requires multiple needles (LOL). But yes, one way to knit socks is with 4 double-pointed needles which is a bit fiddly at first but once you get going it’s quite easy. You can also use a circular needle but I haven’t tried that yet!

      Thanks for the endorsement for Poor Caroline; I should be starting it soon.

Comments are closed.