The Sunday Salon: A Slower Pace, but for Good Reason

What a difference two weeks can make.  At the beginning of June, I was excited about the summer reading season and the five books I planned to read in June.  I dove into Jane Harris’ The Observations with my usual energy, but then a family emergency struck.  I packed a bag and drove over 500 miles to my hometown, where my father had been hospitalized.  My brother and I were quickly faced with decisions about care and housing for both mom and dad.

It’s interesting how your priorities can change so dramatically in the blink of an eye.  I took The Observations along with me, and managed to finish it, but returned another book (Carry me Down) to the library before I left home.  And while I liked The Observations well enough (3 stars), I didn’t feel up to writing a review and I have no plans to do so.  I’m currently reading Salvage the Bones, although I was a bit daunted by Jill’s review this week.  I hope to get to Gillespie and I before the month is out, but if not there’s always next month, right?

Even before this emergency I’d come to the realization that my reading pace had slowed considerably.  I’m on track to read about 60 books this year, compared to 75-80 in years past.  And I’m OK with that.  I started knitting this year, and I also enjoy gardening, and it feels good to diversify my hobbies a bit.  I still have little anxiety pangs over the sheer number of unread books on my shelves, and new titles that sound too good to pass up.  I’m hoping that will pass, in time.  In the grand scheme of things, sometimes there are just more pressing priorities than your current book.

Wishing you a peaceful Sunday and a great week!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: A Slower Pace, but for Good Reason

  1. Sorry to hear about your family crisis, but I think you’re right that sometimes your reading pace slows down without there being any particular reason. (I’m on course to have read 80 books this year, where it was 100 last year.) I occasionally get guilt about my TBR but as long as I’m still reading something I figure it’s okay.

    Interesting that you plan your month’s reading. I occasionally plan my next book but very rarely further ahead than that.

    I’m currently re-reading Death and the Penguin by Andrey Kurkov. It’s not doing my TBR any good but if I don’t occasionally re-read I have no excuse for owning all these books rather than borrowing them from the library!

  2. I hope your father does better soon…and yes, in just a blink of an eye, everything changes. Priorities, etc.

    I’m glad you were able to enjoy some reading, but reviews certainly seem less important in those moments.

    In case you feel like visiting, here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  3. I’m sorry to hear about your Dad. I’m the same way with the slow-down in reading … my reading pace has also decreased, and I’m on track to read about 60 books this year, too. I tell myself that an average of a book a week still isn’t too shabby and, like others have said, sometimes it is good to diversify one’s life with other hobbies. I’m getting into gardening too (or, trying to). Hope all goes well for your Dad.

  4. Well, as usual we\’re on the same wavelength. I\’m sorry to hear about your dad, Laura – those kinds of family crises can really throw you off…my reading has been ridiculously slow all year and I know, in part, it is because of other priorities that relate to family health issues. Sometimes we just have to go through these kinds of things in life…not fun. *hugs*

  5. You’re quite right Laura – real life gets in the way of reading sometimes, doesn’t it? I’m so sorry to hear about your Dad and hope you’ve sorted things out ok. My Dad had a couple of strokes just over a year ago and it was a real shock – especially as he’d always seemed kinda invincible. He’s back to pretty good health and is physically fine and has some language and seems happy enough. But he’ll never read again, which is a great sadness. Sometimes you just have to give other things priority and as long as you’re reading something and enjoying it, the pace should be your own.

  6. Sorry to hear about your father. I am thinking of my Dad too so far away (on Father’s Day). Just to talk to him makes all the difference. Best wishes, hopefully reading provides a comfort

  7. So sorry to hear about your father. I hope everything gets back to normal quickly. I can’t read when I’m worrying about things so I understand. Don’t worry about slowing down with the reading – diversifying the hobbies is good too!

  8. Sorry about your dad, Laura, and the change in circumstances that his health problems necessitated.

    There’s a balance to be found between reading & blogging and the rest of our lives and it can be hard to get to sometimes. Just keep remembering what’s really important: family & friends and don’t feel guilty (who am I to give advice about this?) about the unread books. 🙂

Comments are closed.