The Sunday Salon: My November Book Stack

Well.  It’s been kind of quiet here lately — I missed a couple of Sundays due to busy weekends, and then of course there was Hurricane Sandy, which took out our power for a few days.  Thankfully there was no damage, so I really shouldn’t complain.  The power outage provided plenty of reading time, even if it was mostly be candlelight, so I guess if there’s a silver lining, that’s it.

And now it’s a new month, and there’s a new stack of books sitting on my desk.  In October, I took a break from reading classics, but I’m back at it again this month with 3 of 5 books from my Classics Club list.  Here’s the stack, minus one — from top to bottom:

  • Barchester Towers, by Anthony Trollope:  This one is on my Kindle.  I really enjoyed reading The Warden in August (read my review), and decided to tackle Barchester Towers as part of a tutored read on LibraryThing. This is my second try reading this book (I gave up two years ago), but I’m optimistic and excited about reading it.
  • The Guns of August, by Barbara Tuchman:  A few years ago I began a November tradition, reading a book about war sometime near Remembrance Day. This is my choice for 2012.
  • The Vet’s Daughter, by Barbara Comyns : Comyns has a unique style, and I’ve heard good things about this Virago Modern Classic.
  • The Buccaneers, by Edith Wharton:  it’s been ages since I read any Wharton, and she’s one of my favorite authors. What am I waiting for?
  • The Garden of Evening Mists, by Tan Twan Eng: this novel was nominated for the 2012 Booker Prize, and received very favorable reviews from several bookish friends.  No need to squint — it’s not pictured.  I’ll probably get it from my local library.

What books are you looking forward to reading this month?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

20 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: My November Book Stack

  1. Glad you survived Sandy safely, Laura! And what a lovely pile of books! I’m trying to decide what to read next at the moment – probably Mrs. Palfrey for the Elizabeth Taylor read-along. I have started Olivia Manning’s Balkan Trilogy but am panicking slightly about the length – I really seem to be having long-volume-reader’s-block at the moment!

    • Kaggsy, I hope you enjoy Mrs Palfrey (I read it a while back and loved it). I’ve heard great things about the Balkan Trilogy — I hope you stick with it so you can convince me to read it!

  2. I’m glad you’re safe and sound after Sandy!

    You have a nice stack there 🙂 I’m pretty excited about my upcoming reads. I think I’ll be starting The Art Forger today..or maybe The End of Your Life Book Club. We’ll see what kind of mood I’m in!

    Happy Reading 🙂

  3. I always appreciate folks who can plan their reading in advance. Whenever I do that my mood changes and I read none of those books. Best of luck to you in November!

    • Cass, believe it or not, this method is spontaneous compared to what I used to do. But even after assembling my pretty little stack, I still reserve the right to change my mind!

  4. That is an excellent stack! I have Barchester Towers in my classics list as well, & I really enjoyed your review of The Warden. I look forward to hearing about this one! If you enjoy Trollope, have you considered reading The Way We Live Now? I read it a few years ago – on the heels of the collapse of AIG – and found Trollope nearly prescient in his take down of the speculators who will loot society to line their own pockets. It is well worth the time to read.

    • Thank you Chris, I’m glad you liked my review of The Warden. So far, Barchester Towers is a fun read too. I’ve heard good things about Trollope’s “financial novels,” but I think I’ll work through this particular series first. Anyway, thanks for the rec!

    • Jackie, when I saw your review I knew I simply had to read it. I’d already seen many positive reviews, but from people who often like books that you don’t. Your positive review sealed the deal.

  5. It’s nice to hear that you didn’t have any damage after Sandy.

    Nice stack! This month I’m looking forward to read more books off of my shelves. I hope you have a great month of reading.

  6. I hope you get The Garden of Evening mists – and that you love it as much as I did.
    I loved The Barchester Chronicles – although I was only about 20 when I read them – and you wouldn’t necessarily think they would have appealed to a 20 year old. I have added them all to my Classics Club list to re-read. Will start in January with the Warden for my next month of re-reading.

  7. As a long-ago history major, I am impressed by your choice of Barbara Tuchman. I have read some of her history essays, which are great. Go ahead & go for it!

Comments are closed.