The Sunday Salon: My May Book Stack

Welcome to May, everyone!  Between warmer weather, a garden that needs lots of attention, and new work responsibilities that tire me out during the week, my reading time has diminished and my reading mood is shifting toward lighter fare.  I’m excited about the books I have lined up this month and I can’t wait to share them with you.

Taking a closer look:

  • .Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson: This is my current read and I am so, so excited about it.  I requested it from my library, and was something like #70 in queue.  After reading many excellent reviews from LibraryThing members, bloggers, and major media outlets like The Guardian and the New York Times, I caved and bought the Kindle edition.
  • The Means of Escape, by Penelope Fitzgerald: Continuing with my short story project , this is my choice for May.
  • A Glass of Blessings, by Barbara Pym: 2013 is Pym’s centenary year, and the LibraryThing Virago Group is reading one book each month.  I’m only reading the books I haven’t read before, and this is one of them.
  • Queen Lucia, by E. F. Benson: this is one of the acquisitions mentioned last week, and this is the first in a series.  I understand they are comfort reads, and that sounds like just what the doctor ordered.
  • A Single Man, by Christopher Isherwood:  I’ve had this on my stacks for some time, after friends heartily recommended it.  I’ve heard the film with Colin Firth is also good (is there anything starring Colin Firth that isn’t?), but I’d like to read the book first.

That’s probably as much as I will be able to manage in one month.  But I’ve thought ahead just in case.  If I find myself short of reading material, I’d like to read 2012 Booker Prize nominee The Lighthouse, by Alison Moore.  My library doesn’t have it, so I’d probably download it to my Kindle.

Have you read any of these books?  Share your thoughts in the comments!

What are you planning to read this month?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Subscribe to The Sunday Salon here, and on Facebook.

24 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: My May Book Stack

  1. Nice books Laura! I will also be reading “A Glass of Blessings” and am very much looking forward to it! Apart from that, and my monthly Powell plus my current Nina Bawden readalong, I’m not planning anything else specific so I can follow the reading muse!

  2. Absolutely no plans because I have 43 books waiting on my Kindle–what riches. (Not as extravagant as it sounds as ca 50 % are from the Gutenberg Project and didn’t cost a penny) I am 1/4 through the autobiography of The soldier hero of Georgette Heyer’s “The Spanish Bride”/ It is fascinating to see how she stuck to the facts–even whole quotations of dialogue.

    • Erika, those 43 books waiting on Kindle should keep you busy for a while. Interesting that you are reading an autobiography related to the Heyer. I always appreciate finding works of fiction that are well researched.

  3. I’ve heard wonderful things about Life After Life. I have a copy sitting on my bookshelves, but I want to savor it and so I’m waiting until I have a nice free day to really get into it. I hope you have a great month of reading in May!

    • Thanks Kim. On Sunday I carved out a chunk of time to savor Life after Life and wish I could have done nothing but read. Alas, life doesn’t work that way!

  4. I have Glass of Blessings (of course) and Queen Lucia on my May book stack, too. Looking forward to them both.

  5. I found “life after Life” an absorbing but awkward read–it was rather too disorganized for my taste but a worthwhile try on the part of the writer.

    • Hello again Erika. Interesting impressions of Life After Life. I love books like this that seem to generate a lot of discussion.

  6. sounds like you have some fantastic books in your stack! I look forward to your reviews 😀

  7. Just finished Life after Life (a library copy I waited months to get) I liked it, but I won’t be buying my own copy to reread later.

    • Tracey, I’m glad you liked it. I hardly ever re-read books myself, so it was unusual for me to buy this one too.

  8. I may end up buying my own copy of Life After Life before too long… don’t seem to be making much progress at all on the library hold list! A Glass of Blessing is wonderful (I read it earlier this year). A SIngle Man has been on my ‘to read’ list for ages, but I finally broke down and watched the movie anyway – Colin Firth is excellent!

    • JoAnn, my library’s list was moving very slowly as well. I just couldn’t wait! I’m glad you liked the Pym and I’m a huge Colin Firth fan so I look forward to seeing the film.

  9. My May reading is going to have to include some Pym. The plan was to wait for Thomas’s reading week extravaganza but it’s just too darn hard with so much talk of her lately!

    • Darlene, I understand completely. I love Thomas’ idea and yet I really want to read along with the LT VMC group so I decided to join in this month.

    • Karen, your timing is impeccable as I had just decided to abandon her short stories. Like you, I didn’t care much for Offshore, so I’m not at all sure how or why I ended up with the short stories on my shelves. But I can now say they were odd at best and about halfway through, I gave up.

Comments are closed.