The Sunday Salon: Welcome Spring!

What a beautiful weekend!  Saturday was sunny, with high temperatures in the 70s.  It was the perfect day to visit our favorite trail, which was covered in snow on a visit a few weeks ago.  The trail winds along a creek, something two hot Labrador Retrievers simply cannot resist.  You may remember Woody & Lily from their guest post last month:

On to more bookish things.  This week I published two reviews.  My Brilliant Career failed to impress, but Heyer’s These Old Shades was a light fun read for The Classics Circuit (click on the cover images to read my reviews):

And then, I moved on to an absolutely wonderful book:  Haweswater, by Sarah Hall, which won the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First Book in 2003.  Set in England’s Lake District during the 1930s, it’s a fictionalized account of construction of the Haweswater Reservoir.  Building the reservoir required villages to be flooded and lost forever, their inhabitants relocated.  The book was excellent, and moving on many different levels.  Look for my review later today.  UPDATE: here’s my review of Haweswater.

And finally, this week I launched a new feature, Midweek @ Musings.  Each Wednesday, I’ll share thoughts both literary and otherwise.  My inaugural post was a bit random and silly, and I’ve also enjoyed brainstorming topics for the coming weeks.  This should be fun; I hope you’ll return to check it out!

How are you spending your weekend?  Is it spring in your part of the world?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

Bookmark and Share

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Welcome Spring!

  1. Lilly and Woody look so happy; i’m thrilled spring has arrived as well. Haweswater Resivoir, reminds me of a good I liked a lot: Waterborne, Murkoff – a novel which talks about the building of the Hoover Dam.

    Have a great week Laura!

  2. So the question is what are you reading today? 🙂

    I have a similar feature, well, sort of, on my blog called Midweek Review, although with mine, I stick mostly to reading topics, since my blog is no longer primarily a book blog – and does go all over the place.

    As someone who has an online alter ego who can be random and silly, I for one think it’s quite fine for you to be random and silly at times too. Why not? It’s all part of who you are. 🙂

    • Well, I was between books when I posted this morning, and even now the most I can say is that I have retrieved my next book from the shelves and placed it in a handy spot to start reading this evening. It’s been a beautiful day and I’ve spent it doing more outdoor things than reading.

      And I agree about “random and silly” too. The most important thing in blogging is to be true to yourself, and let that true self show.

Comments are closed.