The Sunday Salon: February Wrap-up

OK, winter can end now.  I mean it.  This week, we were once again hit by snowstorms which kept the kids home from school, and me working from my home office.  And of course, come Saturday I had to cure my cabin fever with a bit of used book shopping, just as I did last week. This week’s venue was The Book Trader in Philadelphia.  I’d never been there before, but I assure you it will be a required stop on all future trips to the city!  I was delighted to find three new Virago Modern Classics for my collection, and three more novels.  Woo hoo!

From left to right:

The Clever Woman of the Family, by Charlotte Yonge; The Little Disturbances of Man, by Grace Paley; The Weather in the Streets, by Rosamond Lehmann; Milk and Honey, by Elizabeth Jolley; The Farming of Bones, by Edwidge Danticat; A Change of Climate, by Hilary Mantel

Reading-wise, it was a slow week.  It’s actually been a slow month for me as well.  While I enjoyed my reading, and each book garnered at least a 3-star rating, not a single book earned 4 stars or more.  And I was distracted by a number of other things in real life.  So I’m left feeling kind of “meh” about February’s reading, just as I often feel kind of “meh” about February in general (this despite it being my birthday month).   To lift my spirits, I’m now reading a romance by Georgette Heyer, a new-to-me author who will be featured on The Classics Circuit in March.  Even though my stop on the tour isn’t until March 16, I really needed some light fare, and These Old Shades is proving to be just that.  I’m considering reading it in phases — using it as a pick-me-up now, and then finishing it closer to the date of my tour stop.

Here’s what I read in February; click on each cover to read my review:

Have you read any of these books?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Read more from The Sunday Salon here.

Bookmark and Share

7 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: February Wrap-up

  1. This was a weird reading month for me, too. I didn’t blow through books at my normal pace, and some of the stuff I read was not my usual fare. I am really looking forward to March – I have some great books in my stack…and March tends to be a real intro to Spring here in Northern California. I want some sunshine too!!!

    Have a good day, my friend!

    • Wendy, I’m looking forward to March just because it isn’t February! I’m looking forward to the books I have teed up … I am enjoying the Heyer mentioned in my post and have also started the second in the Regeneration trilogy. Two very different books but both good. Hope you had a wonderful Sunday!

      • I will be very interested to see how you like the second book in the trilogy – it was my least favorite of the three (Ghost Road was my favorite). It is an interesting book…but I thought it lacked something.

    • Melissa, I didn’t realize you were a “local”. Not sure just where you are (I’m in southern Chester County) … would love to hear about your favorite used bookshops as I’m always on the lookout!

  2. This year has been off to a slow start for reading for me, too.

    Hey, I lived in Chester County for a couple years and lived about one mile away from Baldwin’s Book Barn! Have you been there?

    Of the books you mention above, the only one I’ve read was “Eleanor of Aquitaine” by Alison Weir. I enjoyed it, but then I am a history buff!

    • Yes, I’ve been to Baldwin’s. They have such unique stuff, you never know what you’ll find there ! Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.